The Gateways to good

The Gateways to good

Mu’adh ibn Jabal (May Allah be pleased with him) narrates that he said to the Prophet (Peace be upon him),

“Inform me about an act which would entitle me to get into Paradise, and remove me away from the Hellfire.”

So the Prophet (saw) replied, “You have asked me about a matter (which ostensibly appears to be) difficult but it is easy to those for whom Allah, the Exalted, has made it easy. Worship Allah and do not associate anything with him, establish prayer, pay the Zakat, observe the fast of Ramadan and perform Hajj to the (sacred) House (Ka’bah).” He again said:Should I not direct you to the gateways of good?”

“Listen to me: The fasting is a shield against evil, the charity extinguishes (the fire of sin) just as water extinguishes fire, the prayer of a person during the middle of the night.” Then he (saw) recited: ‘Who forsake their beds…(up to)….they used to do.’ [Al Qur’an]. Then he(saw) said: Should I not direct you to the highest level of this matter, to the pillar on which (it rests) and its top?

I said: Allah’s Messenger yes, (do tell me).

He (saw) said: The uppermost level of the matter is Islam. Its pillar is the prayer and its top is Jihad.

He (saw) then said: Should I not inform you of the sheet anchor of all this?

I said: Allah’s Apostle (of course do it).

He took hold of his tongue and said: Exercise restraint on it. I said: Apostle of Allah, would we be held responsible for what we say with it? Thereupon he said: Mu’adh, may your mother be bereaved. Will anything else besides (irresponsible) talk cause the people to be thrown into the Hell-Fire upon their faces or on their nostrils?

[Ahmad, Tirmidhi, Ibn Majah]

0 Responses to “The Gateways to good”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow me on twitter

  • The people who are meant to be in your life will always gravitate back to you, no matter how far they wanderPosted: 3 months ago

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 323 other followers

Categories

Total visitors

  • 335,869 hits

