I worship my Lord

I worship my Lord

A beautiful poem that reflects courage and strength against the tides of
continuous victimisation of Muslim Women by society
Written by Sister Na’ima B. Robert


I wake before dawn. No muadhin calls me, No footsteps stir me,
Instead society spurns me, Labels me and burns me.
But everyday, I wake before dawn.

I wear my hijab. No father threatens me, No religious police warn me,
Instead society judges me, Mocks me and shuns me.
But everyday, I wear my hijab.

I rear my children. No family pressures me, No work barriers limit me,
Instead society shames me, Names me and blames me.
But everyday, I rear my children.

I follow the Sunnah. No culture defines me, No history holds me,
Instead, society scolds me, Re-makes and moulds me.
But every day, I follow the Sunnah.

I strive for Paradise. No teachers indoctrinate me, No worldly hardships sedate me,
Instead society rejects me, tempts me and affects me.
But every day, I strive for Paradise.

I worship my Lord. No imam compels me, No rules force my heart,
Instead, society fears me, and dares not come near me.

But every day, I worship my Lord.

Every day, in every way, through hardship and strife
And the all-consuming, O so fleeting,
Bitter sweetness of life, I worship my Lord.

Taken from http://islamicpoems.blogspot.com

1 Response to “I worship my Lord”


  1. 1 Hamza Isa July 18, 2008 at 11:26 am

    mashallah, a beautiful poem


Leave a Reply

Follow me on twitter

  • The people who are meant to be in your life will always gravitate back to you, no matter how far they wanderPosted: 3 months ago

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 323 other followers

Categories

Total visitors

  • 335,869 hits

